Synthesizing Research in a Literature Review

One of the most common challenges I hear from students when writing the literature review is synthesizing research material. According to Merriam-Webster, synthesis refers to the composition or combination of parts or elements to form a whole. So, when you synthesize research on your topic, you should be bringing together elements of the research to

Qualitative Data Collection During a Global Pandemic

The use of technology for qualitative data collection was nothing new before the COVID-19 pandemic began. However, using technology like videoconferencing to conduct interviews and focus groups is now the norm, rather than the exception, and may be for some time. This blog provides some pointers for modifying your qualitative data collection in a pandemic.

Section 9 – RESULTS

The Quantitative Results Chapter includes confirming the correct analyses, conducting the actual analyses, and the write-up and explanation of the findings. You must conduct descriptive statistics on demographic and research variables (i.e., mean, standard deviation, frequency and percent as appropriate); Conduct analyses and assess assumptions to examine the research questions; and Assess the assumptions of

Section 8 – PPT: PROPOSAL 

Generally, the dissertation proposal consists of Chapters 1-3: the Introduction, the Literature Review, and the Methodology. More specifically, your dissertation proposal will need to show your committee that you have identified a purposeful and important dissertation study (part of the Introduction, Chapter 1), will fill a gap in the literature (part of the Literature Review,

Section 7 – IRB / URR



Dissertation Timeline | Section 4 – INTRODUCTION

Dissertation Timeline | Section 3 – PROSPECTUS / CONCEPT PAPER

Dissertation Timeline | Section 2 – Research Plan/SMR

Pin It on Pinterest